Eggless Vanilla Cake

Happy New Year to all my Dear Readers,

To welcome this new year, I have an indulgent recipe which is one of my favourites too. A simple recipe which tastes amazing and will add to the celebrations of those special occasions.

eggless vanilla cake

The cake is versatile and can be made into cupcakes or can be used for layered cake. I have used cranberries to add that touch of tang in this version but I forgot to mix them with flour and so all of them settled at the bottom. I have earlier tried this cake with strawberry jam sandwiched between layers and topped with fresh cream and it was divine. This recipe is a keeper for sure.I have adapted the recipe from here with few changes (taking cues from the comments section).

Eggless Vanilla Cake 01

I frosted the cake with white ganache and topped it with cranberry heart. Frosting looks rustic and has a homemade charm to it. White chocolate ganache can be trickier than the dark chocolate ganache and it deserves a separate post to explain. Meanwhile, you could use the dark chocolate ganache recipe from here for frosting this wonderful vanilla cake.

Eggless Vanilla Cake

Ingredients

3/4 cup + 1 tbsp maida/ all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
200gm sweetened condensed milk (I used Amul)
50 gm butter
1/4 + 1/8 cup milk
2 tbsp dahi/ yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 150 degree centigrade.

Sieve together maida/ flour, baking powder and soda. In another bowl mix butter and condensed milk till it is combined properly. I used my hand held blender for this.

Add yogurt, milk and vanilla and blend again till a homogenous liquid is formed. Tip in the flour and mix gently with a whisk till all the traces of flour is incorporated. Do not over mix.

Pour the batter in 6” round tin which is greased and floured (I use parchment paper for the bottom to ensure easy release of the cake from the pan) and tap the tin to remove any trapped air. Bake for about 45 to 50 mins or till the toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Let the cake cool for 5 mins in the tin and then transfer it to the cooling rack to cool completely and only then proceed with the frosting.

Leave a comment