Mango Cake

IMG_20150603_075306821

Mango cake

IMG_20150603_075251805

Mango cake

IMG_20150603_075213199

Mango cake

Flavour of the season is Mango, so let’s celebrate it . . . . As I kid as I did not like mangoes (and so many more things  . . . I was a very fussy eater) but my Nani made it compulsory for all and I had to abide by it even with tears in my eyes. That summer transformed everything for me; I fell in love with mangoes and thank my Nani every season for it. Now when Avvi refuses to even taste something new, I sneak a bite in his mouth while he watches his favourite TV show and a few bites later he starts enjoying it. (Of course ! he doesn’t admit it). I not very happy with this, but currently it works. As much as possible, I try to introduce him to fruits and vegetable in their natural form so that he is aware of what he is eating and makes the right choices when he grows up. Initially I was to bake a basic vanilla cake and top it with mango syrup but then I came across this recipe and decided to try it. The cake was good but a little dense probably because of the quality of jaggery I used.

Dry Ingredients

3/4 cup Whole wheat flour (atta)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cardamom powder

Pinch of salt  

Wet Ingredients

1/3 cup powdered jaggery

1/2 cup aamras (mango pulp) I have used Alphonso mangoes.

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup neutral oil

1/2 tsp vanilla essence  

Preheat the oven to 170 degree Celcius.

Sieve together all the dry ingredients in a bowl. In another bowl mix well all the wet ingredients til jaggery powder melts completely.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry in two parts and mix well. Do not over mix the batter.

Line your muffin tin with liners and pour the batter upto 2/3rd full. The above measurements shall give you 6 nos. regular sized muffcakes. I baked in a mini muffin pan and got 12 nos.

Bake for 14 -16 mins at 170 degree celcius, till the toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. All ovens vary in temperature so adjust accordingly.

Cool the muffcakes on a wire rack and serve as it is or frost it with whipped fresh cream and mango pieces. These can be stored in fridge upto two days.

Leave a Reply

